• Welcome to Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums.

In search of a complete guide for setting up an IPv6 Tunnel in Windows

Started by huerte, July 25, 2009, 02:16:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

huerte

Hey guys,
I'm pretty green to the IPv6; in fact, all I know is from reading, and I have no applicable experience.  I'm looking to create or to be pointed to a complete how-to guide for setting up an IPv6 tunnel from my network to the outside world.
In this forum I see a hodge-podge of posts that assume you already know or have completed an unknown series of steps.  I'd like to make guide that assumes nothing.
At home I have a pretty basic setup:
1 Windows XP PC
2 Windows 7 (64bit) PCs
All of these are behind a typical retail router connected to a cable modem.  I'm guessing my setup at home isn't unique.

From what I read, I'll need to install a DNS server on one of my PCs, but that's about all I have.

Any ideas for this n00b?

Thanks,

Jeff

yorick

You need a tunnel method that is NAT-friendly, or a router that can set the tunnel for you. Proto41 tunnels do not survive NAT.

I have a series of blog posts at yorickdowne.wordpress.com that go into this. I haven't gotten round to describing Hexago, and that's likely the easiest to set up - you may want to use the blog to get an understanding, and then go with the Hexago tunnel.

If you do use a tunnel that is terminated on an individual machine, it'll be for that machine only. Windows can route ipv6 to others machines on your LAN, but so far, I haven't been able to set that up and describe it.

Alternatively, replace your home router with something ipv6-capable - Cisco, Juniper, what-have-you - and set up a proto41 tunnel to HE.

brad

Quote from: yorick on August 04, 2009, 04:30:23 AM
You need a tunnel method that is NAT-friendly, or a router that can set the tunnel for you. Proto41 tunnels do not survive NAT.