Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Unable to reach ipv6.tunnelbroker.net (but every other ipv6 domain, works!)  (Read 4845 times)

lucagervasi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8

Hallo,

i have some throuble using my c877 with he.net.

I've setup ipv6 over a tunnel interface, i can reach ipv6.google.com and http://www.whatsmyipv6.com gives me back the correctly routed ipv6 but i cannot reach he.net (i can reach it only using ipv4).

That's the traceroute to ipv6.he.net
Code: [Select]
Type escape sequence to abort.
Tracing the route to ipv6.he.net (2001:470:0:64::2)

  1 lucagervasi-1.tunnel.tserv5.lon1.ipv6.he.net (2001:470:1F08:492::1) 92 msec 84 msec 88 msec
  2 gige-g4-6.core1.lon1.he.net (2001:470:0:67::1) 100 msec 84 msec 96 msec
  3 2001:470:0:128::1 168 msec
    10gigabitethernet2-3.core1.nyc4.he.net (2001:470:0:3E::1) 164 msec
    2001:470:0:128::1 160 msec
  4 10gigabitethernet5-3.core1.lax1.he.net (2001:470:0:10E::1) 224 msec 216 msec 236 msec
  5 10gigabitethernet1-3.core1.pao1.he.net (2001:470:0:34::1) 220 msec 224 msec 224 msec
  6 10gigabitethernet1-2.core1.fmt1.he.net (2001:470:0:2E::1) 232 msec 220 msec 224 msec
  7  *  *  *
  8  *  *  *
  9  *  *  *
 10  *  *  *
 11  *  *  *
 12  *  *  *
 13  *  *  *
 14  *  *  *

Is that solvable?

Thanks

Luca
Logged

piojan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85

Some host/router block icmp.
This might be the case. But that should not make a difference for http protocol.
Try: telnet he.net 80
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1736

Hallo,

i have some throuble using my c877 with he.net.

how have you configured the /48 for use on your system? details and pastes please
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 778

I note that the above traceroute does show that packets are leaving his machine with the tunnel and are coming back, so I don't think that's the problem.

It looks as if hop #7 is blocking ICMPv6 (being a peer of the Fremont router, hop #6).
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1736

Actually looks like by default we drop udp traceroutes at the host, but traceroute6 -I ipv6.he.net or mtr or ping6 should all be working.
Logged