Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?  (Read 9809 times)

hisken

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« on: March 11, 2010, 02:28:50 AM »

Hi All,

It looks like the Amsterdam PoP is down. This is frustrating since we use this PoP for our school's IPv6 connectivity  :( .

Does anybody know what's happening?
Logged

ohosipsix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 04:04:33 AM »

As fas as I can tell, connection was lost between 09:59 and 10:59 CET (I do a connection test every hour) http://tunnelbroker.net/status.php shows the PoP is down, so we'll just have to wait.

I guess if you're in a rush and all your clients get their IPv6-address dynamically, you could setup a tunnel to tserv5.lon1, tserv17.lon1 or tserv18.fra1. Those are the PoP's with the lowest pings from where I'm sitting.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2010, 11:49:06 AM by ohosipsix »
Logged

hisken

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2010, 06:09:31 AM »

As fas as I can tell, connection was lost between 09:59 and 10:59 CET (I do a connection test every hour) http://tunnelbroker.net/status.php shows the PoP is down, so I we'll just have to wait.

I guess if you're in a rush and all your clients get their IPv6-address dynamically, you could setup a tunnel to tserv5.lon1, tserv17.lon1 or tserv18.fra1. Those are the PoP's with the lowest pings from where I'm sitting.
Okay, I just requested a new tunnel.
Everything fine, but we've got quite a lot of IPv6-enabled servers with static addresses which are in an wrong subnet.

Does anybody know how I am able to reach those IPv6-enabled servers again now I've got v6-connectivity using a new PoP?
« Last Edit: March 11, 2010, 07:51:56 AM by hisken »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2715
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2010, 06:14:05 AM »

If they're local on your LAN, you have a couple of options.

A) use IPv4
B) Configure your router with static routes that routes that traffic to the correct location.
Logged

Kaatje

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2010, 07:40:30 AM »

I sent a ticket into NOC about this. Is there any ETA? It would be good if one could simply switch the endpoint without losing tunnels. Thanks.
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2010, 07:45:10 AM »

Seems a tech in NIKHEF doing an unrelated workorder, has de-cabled/knocked loose? our tunnel-server's ethernet patch. I'm waiting to hear back from them regarding this. No ETA.
Logged

hisken

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2010, 07:57:04 AM »

If they're local on your LAN, you have a couple of options.

A) use IPv4
B) Configure your router with static routes that routes that traffic to the correct location.
A: Ironically we are just in the proces of migrating to IPv6  :) Clients are not configured yet to use the v6 server addresses though, so the problem isn't really that big. We're still waiting to get native IPv6.

B: Sounds interesting. I'll look into it!  :D

Seems a tech in NIKHEF doing an unrelated workorder, has de-cabled/knocked loose? our tunnel-server's ethernet patch. I'm waiting to hear back from them regarding this. No ETA.
So the downtime isn't really related to technical issues (software/hardware) as I first thought. Heck, this should be easy to fix  :P . Hope they'll get to it soon at NIKHEF.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2010, 08:00:47 AM by hisken »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2715
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2010, 07:59:16 AM »

If you do go with B, you might want to put a route in there that prevents routing that range to the Internet, because technically, that range is no longer yours.
Logged

cemc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2010, 08:04:47 AM »

Hi

Any updates on this? It still seems to be down. Not complaining, just wondering if there's an ETA ;)

Thanks
Logged

hisken

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2010, 09:26:56 AM »

Unbelievable. Frankfurt seems down too, right now  :'( .
Let's jump to the next one.


Nevermind, my tunnel to Frankfurt is still up.
Don't know why the status page mentions it is down.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2010, 09:28:59 AM by hisken »
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2010, 09:38:42 AM »

Unbelievable. Frankfurt seems down too, right now  :'( .
Let's jump to the next one.


Nevermind, my tunnel to Frankfurt is still up.
Don't know why the status page mentions it is down.

You have a BGP tunnel? Because those are the only tunnels on tserv18. You probably have one on tserv6, which are for regular tunnels. Also there was a traffic shift in Frankfurt that we've migrated away, so that down is actually a false positive that will be cleared in the next few polls.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2010, 10:02:49 AM by broquea »
Logged

hisken

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2010, 10:05:09 AM »

Unbelievable. Frankfurt seems down too, right now  :'( .
Let's jump to the next one.


Nevermind, my tunnel to Frankfurt is still up.
Don't know why the status page mentions it is down.

You have a BGP tunnel? Because those are the only tunnels on tserv18. You probably have one on tserv6, which are for regular tunnels. Also there was a traffic shift in Frankfurt that we've migrated away, so that down is actually a false positive that will be cleared in the next few polls.
Ah, missed that one, it's a regular tunnel indeed. Didn't see there was a second server in Frankfurt.
Logged

mastermind

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2010, 10:27:20 AM »

Hi,

Is there already an ETA for this issue (just wondering), as tserv11 currently has a downtime of about 9 hours.
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2010, 10:30:45 AM »

Logged

mastermind

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: tserv11 / Amsterdam down?
« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2010, 10:51:54 AM »

Logged
Pages: [1] 2