Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]

Author Topic: PPTP Connected but no Traffic  (Read 54931 times)

Ninho

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #60 on: June 04, 2010, 01:57:38 AM »

Ok, we think we finally tracked down this one and in theory, it should be squished.  Tunnels shouldn't stop working randomly once they're up...

Good shot! Looks OK now from where I stand ! Pending confirmation, thank you again...

Quote
As it is, we already do some NAT preservation by sending LCP pings periodically over the PPP control link.  Keeps that channel live, and checks for dead links.

Haha! I told'm all it could be at the LCP level under PPTP. Anyway like Jim I'd be delighted to read more in-depth explanations, even though I might not grasp the full picture  ;=)

Logged

donaldgmartin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #61 on: June 04, 2010, 06:58:44 AM »

My tunnel's been up for 2.5 hours and it's still working. Looks like the problem is gone, thanks to crew at HE.
By the way, what's with the "encryption" option in the tunnel settings? How do I enable it?
Logged

kcochran

  • Sr. Network Engineer, Hurricane Electric
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 415
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #62 on: June 04, 2010, 07:12:21 AM »

My tunnel's been up for 2.5 hours and it's still working. Looks like the problem is gone, thanks to crew at HE.
By the way, what's with the "encryption" option in the tunnel settings? How do I enable it?

Glad to hear it.

And you don't.  It's purely there as an informational note for now.  I've updated the help text associated with it clarifying that.
Logged

Ninho

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #63 on: June 04, 2010, 08:28:30 AM »

+1. Tunnel still working after being left unattended for a few hours  :)

As for encryption, it'll be a plus if you would enable it as an option some time later.

Logged

homeipv6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #64 on: June 04, 2010, 01:50:59 PM »

Frankfurt VPN works almost 6 hours.
Thanks for fixing it.
Logged

mthode

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • NO U!!!
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #65 on: June 04, 2010, 02:06:02 PM »

Yep, still up for me too after 3 hours.
Logged

liuxyon

  • readonly_member
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #66 on: July 10, 2010, 02:05:04 AM »

I am using the 72.52.104.74 server, the PPTP Connected but no Traffic question happen again now.

Logged
<a href="http://ipv6.he.net/certification/scoresheet.php?pass_name=liuxyon" target="_blank"><img src="http://ipv6.he.net/certification/create_badge.php?pass_name=liuxyon&amp;badge=3" style="border: 0; width: 229px; height: 137px" alt="IPv6 Certification Badge for liuxyon"></img></a>

anackin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #67 on: July 21, 2010, 03:43:21 PM »


I have a Fedora 12 box with DSL modem,  I tried this:

ip route delete default
ip route add default route dev ppp0 scope link metric 10
ip route add default via 192.168.0.1 dev eth0  proto static  metric 11

ppp0 is my PPTP device  and 192.168.0.1 my default gw,

I'm not sure metrics is the right way, but works for me.
 
Anackin
Logged

jimb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • ^^^ Warped picture
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #68 on: July 21, 2010, 04:11:35 PM »


I have a Fedora 12 box with DSL modem,  I tried this:

ip route delete default
ip route add default route dev ppp0 scope link metric 10
ip route add default via 192.168.0.1 dev eth0  proto static  metric 11

ppp0 is my PPTP device  and 192.168.0.1 my default gw,

I'm not sure metrics is the right way, but works for me.
 
Anackin

Presuming you're doing 6in4 through this?  If so, perhaps this is an alternative to policy routing.

I'm guessing what makes this work is the lower metric + the scope clause on the default through the PPTP.  I'm not positive, but I'm thinking maybe the scope clause causes routing to ignore the default route unless the ppp0 interface is involved, which would be the case when the source IP is the ppp0 IPv4, then that default is considered and selected because of the lower metric?

That'd have basically the same affect as policy routing if it works the way I describe above, only using the default through ppp0 if the source IPv4 lives on the ppp0 interface.  But I'm guessing here since I'm not fully understanding how the "scope" thing works in this context.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2010, 04:27:31 PM by jimb »
Logged

anackin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #69 on: July 29, 2010, 10:05:14 AM »

Yep. I think scope link means route goes to the device, whatever its IP (looking some ipsysctl howto).

What I want is route all traffic TO the pptp and receive from pptp; so, packet sent via ppp0 must reach pptp server. But if pptp is default gw they never reach remote pptp link.

Metrics make all packet go to ppp0 dev (first choice, lower metric); but packet of pptp tunnel loops, so they find another default gw with higher metric, the local one, and they reach pptp server.

The problem is: in no way my 6in4 tunnelbroker work if I choose same endpoint of VPN. The only way I managed was to change the IPv4 tunnel endpoint and then attach it to my dynamic IP DSL. It's like having 2 vpn, one ipv4 and other ipv6, with ipv6 tunnel endpoint in my dsl dynamic ip.  

Can anyone make tunnelbroker ipv6 and vpn with same endpoint work in linux?
« Last Edit: July 29, 2010, 10:09:15 AM by anackin »
Logged

jimb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • ^^^ Warped picture
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #70 on: July 29, 2010, 07:18:52 PM »

Ah.  I thought u were already doing that.  You need to use policy routing.  see the post by mthode.
Logged

anackin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: PPTP Connected but no Traffic
« Reply #71 on: August 23, 2010, 03:33:21 PM »

Thank you.  I follow mthode post.

Now

->pptp works.

->with policy routing I had my ipv6 tunnel work with pptp endpoint.

->With default gateways ppp0 + eth0 with different metrics, I make my connection get pptp IP.  (I mean, www.myip.net give my pptp ip.), while before it was my dynamic dsl IP.  I think metrics is the workaround for my NAT issues.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]