Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel  (Read 3439 times)

charleslacour

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
« on: March 01, 2011, 08:15:30 PM »

When I do a traceroute6 it takes 11 hops to get across the tunnel.  Is this normal or am I having a routing issue?
Logged

kriteknetworks

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • aRDy Music
Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2011, 08:51:47 PM »

You forgot to show the trace...please show, and please don't obfuscate it, thanks
Logged

charleslacour

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2011, 08:59:54 PM »

I didn't thing that you would need the trace route to say if 11 hops is normal.

But here you go:
traceroute6 ipv6.l.google.com
traceroute6 to ipv6.l.google.com (2001:4860:8004::6a) from 2001:470:d:d69::1:118, 64 hops max, 12 byte packets
 1  vaio.home.thekeep.com  2.655 ms  3.840 ms  1.722 ms
 2  * * *
 3  * * *
 4  * * *
 5  * * *
 6  * * *
 7  * * *
 8  * * *
 9  * * *
10  * * *
11  * * *
12  *
    pw-in-x6a.1e100.net  64.428 ms  62.526 ms
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 772
Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2011, 11:37:57 PM »

What's the TTL on your tunnel interface?  This one got me in the past.
Logged

charleslacour

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2011, 08:11:51 AM »

I did not have one explicitly set, I added "ttl 64" to the interface definition and it works!

Is there a value for ttl that you would recommend for the tunnel?
Logged

ratcheer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2011, 08:18:43 AM »

The commands given to me by the HE configuration script specify it at 255. But I have no idea whether that is good or bad.

Tim
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 772
Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2011, 11:54:57 AM »

Without a specific TTL, I bet it was set to "inherit" so it was counting how many IPv4 hops the packets was tunnelled through.
Logged