Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: ipv6 NAT-PT and cisco supported platforms question  (Read 4947 times)

amirisi

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
ipv6 NAT-PT and cisco supported platforms question
« on: March 20, 2011, 02:55:39 AM »

Hi All,

do anybody knows if the cisco 18xx series or 28xx series can preform NAT-PT ?

if so what kind of IOS/license do i need?

thank you for your help,

Best Regards,

Amir.A.
Logged

UltraZero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Feed Me Input... Input...
Re: ipv6 NAT-PT and cisco supported platforms question
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2011, 09:51:55 AM »

Nat-PT was first supported in version 12.2(13)T.  

IF you do a search for Cisco 2821 NAT-PT PDF, there will be a nice PDF file explaining NAT-PT.

roughtly the 4th item down in the list.


« Last Edit: March 20, 2011, 09:54:19 AM by UltraZero »
Logged

maestroevolution

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: ipv6 NAT-PT and cisco supported platforms question
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2011, 12:56:30 PM »

Does Cisco support the DNS piece as well, or do you need to handle that on your own?

Without the DNS mapping, either onboard or via a seperate box, NATPT and NAT64 are virtually useless.

Joel
Logged

disneycheng

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • IPv6 newbie
Re: ipv6 NAT-PT and cisco supported platforms question
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2011, 09:06:07 PM »

To: maestroevolution
BIND support DNS64 already
and some commercial product does support work as DNS64 appliance.
But i didn't see any routing platform support DNS64 feature.

I have test with a commercial DNS64 product with some open-source NAT64 and also Juniper's NAT64 and its work fine.

But I didn't test on Cisco yet

BTW, NAT-PT should be going to replace by NAT64.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2011, 11:10:48 PM by disneycheng »
Logged

maestroevolution

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: ipv6 NAT-PT and cisco supported platforms question
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2011, 09:40:53 AM »

Bind supports DNS64 natively?  I thought this was only possible through that patch...  that project with the funny e... name  (Sorry, no coffee yet this morning).

I will research this; thanks for the tip.

Joel
Logged