Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?  (Read 45789 times)

lukec

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • Home
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2010, 04:39:15 PM »

Would the 30 minutes being suggested be the "lifetime of the allocated prefix" and not the frequency of RAs ?

You could try a packet capture of ICMP6 and check the "managed other" flag.

What are the other settings from the dropdown "Autoconfiguration Type" ?
Regards
lukec
Logged

drydog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2010, 10:38:20 AM »

Would the 30 minutes being suggested be the "lifetime of the allocated prefix" and not the frequency of RAs ? You could try a packet capture of ICMP6 and check the "managed other" flag. What are the other settings from the dropdown "Autoconfiguration Type" ?

I upgraded the D-Link firmware from 2.02NA (came out of the box) to 2.03NA (latest on website).  Still no joy.

The other settings for "Autoconfiguration Type" are: Stateless (current, and default setting) or Sateful (DHCPv6).

I saved the packet capture, and I looked again--no "managed other" flag.

From their DIR-825 emulator help page:
http://www.support.dlink.com/emulators/dir825_revB/203NA/support_adv.html#ipv6
Enable Autoconfiguration
    These two values (from and to) define a range of IPv6 addresses that the DHCPv6 Server uses when assigning addresses to computers and devices on your Local Area Network. Any addresses that are outside this range are not managed by the DHCPv6 Server. However, these could be used for manually configuring devices or devices that cannot use DHCPv6 to automatically obtain network address details.
    When you select Stateful (DHCPv6), the following options are displayed.
    The computers (and other devices) connected to your LAN also need to have their TCP/IP configuration set to "DHCPv6" or "Obtain an IPv6 address automatically".


So, I'll try Stateful autoconfiguration and see if it works.

By the way, D-Link has an online emulator of their router configuration webpages here.  To login, just click login (no password):
http://www.support.dlink.com/emulators/dir825_revB/203NA/login.html
Go to
Login-->Advanced-->IPv6-->IPv6 over IPv4 Tunnel
 to see IPv6 configuration options

 
Logged

jimb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • ^^^ Warped picture
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #17 on: November 22, 2010, 10:59:17 AM »

U won't get a default route w/ DHCPv6, 'cause it doesn't do it.  RA is supposed to do defroutes AFAIK.
Logged

liuxyon

  • readonly_member
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 68
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #18 on: November 23, 2010, 10:58:55 PM »

I have using D-LINK DI615 F3, it isn't support ipv6.  ???
Logged
<a href="http://ipv6.he.net/certification/scoresheet.php?pass_name=liuxyon" target="_blank"><img src="http://ipv6.he.net/certification/create_badge.php?pass_name=liuxyon&amp;badge=3" style="border: 0; width: 229px; height: 137px" alt="IPv6 Certification Badge for liuxyon"></img></a>

drydog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #19 on: December 01, 2010, 12:06:48 AM »

I upgraded the D-Link firmware from 2.02NA (came out of the box) to 2.03NA (latest on website).  Still no joy.
The other settings for "Autoconfiguration Type" are: Stateless (current, and default setting) or Stateful (DHCPv6).

For the record, setting the D-Link router to "Stateful" instead of "Stateless" Autoconfiguration didn't help.  Still no automatic IPv6 address or default route.  The router works if you assign an IPv6 address by-hand (and default route).  That's fine for my desktop, but a pain for my laptop which isn't always on my home network.

I should probably look for a router that fully supports IPv6--including Router Advertisement (RA). Any suggestions for some router that really supports IPv6, from personal experience?
« Last Edit: December 01, 2010, 12:11:04 AM by drydog »
Logged

drydog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #20 on: December 01, 2010, 12:15:32 AM »

I have using D-LINK DI615 F3, it isn't support ipv6.  ???

What's the firmware rev?  This link implies DIR-615 is IPv6-ready, at least with some firmware versions:
http://www.tunnelbroker.net/forums/index.php?topic=296.0
Logged

cconn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #21 on: January 26, 2011, 08:47:29 AM »

I would keep an eye on the DIR-615.  I have been in contact with engineering and have successfully tested DHCP-PD over PPPoE.  A few minor issues not necessarily related to IPv6 remain, however the firmware I was lucky enough to test looks promising and I have good hopes for their product.  I  am on the DIR-615 E3/E4.
Logged

antillie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #22 on: January 26, 2011, 09:43:25 AM »

I should probably look for a router that fully supports IPv6--including Router Advertisement (RA). Any suggestions for some router that really supports IPv6, from personal experience?

Well it doesn't have a nice pretty web based GUI but a Cisco 2621xm running a 12.4 Advanced Enterprise IOS image supports IPv6 routing, tunneling, prefix delegation, and RA's just fine. I have been using a 2621xm running "c2600-adventerprisek9-mz.124-25d.bin" to terminate my 6in4 tunnel to HE for a few months now and it works perfectly.

Now not everyone is comfortable working on a Cisco router but an old 2621xm can be had for under $100 on Ebay.

Another option would be to use something like Vyatta or pfSense. In fact using something like pfSense might be better since not only does it have a nice web based GUI but it also runs on nearly any random x86 box. Also even though getting a 2621xm is relatively easy getting the appropriate IOS image for it can be quite a challenge if you don't have an active service contract with Cisco.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2011, 09:59:43 AM by antillie »
Logged

cconn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #23 on: January 26, 2011, 11:20:41 AM »

I should probably look for a router that fully supports IPv6--including Router Advertisement (RA). Any suggestions for some router that really supports IPv6, from personal experience?

Well it doesn't have a nice pretty web based GUI but a Cisco 2621xm running a 12.4 Advanced Enterprise IOS image supports IPv6 routing, tunneling, prefix delegation, and RA's just fine. I have been using a 2621xm running "c2600-adventerprisek9-mz.124-25d.bin" to terminate my 6in4 tunnel to HE for a few months now and it works perfectly.


what I don't like about IOS and prefix delegation is that (in a PPPoE scenario...) if the WAN interface goes down, when it is re-established, IOS doesn't renew its DHCP prefix with the DHCPv6 server.  In a scenario where multiple routers or multiple DHCP servers are used, this is a show stopper.  I have found a workaround using the event-manager to clear the dhcp lease upon the WAN going down, but I don't like that.  Are there any other ways?
Logged

antillie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #24 on: January 26, 2011, 01:41:40 PM »

Interesting. I didn't know that.

I haven't used a PPPoE connection on IOS with IPv6 so that's good to know. Do you know if this affects IOS 15 as well? If it does this sounds like a good feature request/bug to submit to Cisco.
Logged

cconn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #25 on: January 26, 2011, 01:55:53 PM »

Interesting. I didn't know that.

I haven't used a PPPoE connection on IOS with IPv6 so that's good to know. Do you know if this affects IOS 15 as well? If it does this sounds like a good feature request/bug to submit to Cisco.

I'm sure Cisco knows, I read about this in Cisco-NSP a while ago.  This is the "fix" on the CPE side;

event manager applet renew-v6-lease
event syslog pattern "DIALER-6-BIND"
action 1.0 cli command "clear ipv6 dhcp client Dialer0"
action 2.0 syslog priority debugging msg "Renewing DHCPv6-PD lease"

In a PPPoE scenario, if the WAN dies, the LNS that acted as a DHCPv6 server will drop the route for the prefix it had assigned.  When the CPE reconnects over PPPoE, even if it was to connect to the same LNS, doesn't re-request or refresh its prefix, thus the LNS never re-establishes a route for that prefix towards the Vaccess of that PPPoE connection.

I haven't tried IOS 15 yet, however the 12.4T of late still does this.
Logged

snydergc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #26 on: April 13, 2011, 01:53:48 PM »

When using a router configured like this, I assume the clients are NATed behind this router. So for example they could have addresses of 192.168.1.2, 192.168.1.3, etc.  Do you use the example configurations given for each different type of system OS under the tunnel details page? If not how do you setup those systems? Just a newbie question.
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1731
Re: D-Link native support of IPv6 announced--anyone tried it yet?
« Reply #27 on: April 13, 2011, 02:11:09 PM »

When using a router configured like this, I assume the clients are NATed behind this router. So for example they could have addresses of 192.168.1.2, 192.168.1.3, etc.  Do you use the example configurations given for each different type of system OS under the tunnel details page? If not how do you setup those systems? Just a newbie question.

We have no idea what your DHCP IP is behind those NAT appliances, so we only build example configurations based on your IPv4 endpoint. However we do have this NOTE under the examples, that lots of people seem to gloss over or not read:

Code: [Select]
NOTE: When behind a firewall appliance that passes protocol 41, use the IPv4 address you get from your appliance's DHCP service instead of the IPv4 endpoint you provided to our broker.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]