Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista  (Read 7198 times)

alt1231

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista
« on: February 23, 2010, 08:01:31 PM »

I have vista and a router. I have it installed under vista but also want it installed in linux.
I tried the script but it says no such device found
Logged

jimb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • ^^^ Warped picture
Re: Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2010, 08:11:35 PM »

I get this error
FATAL: Error inserting sit (/lib/modules/2.6.31-20-generic/kernel/net/ipv6/sit.ko): Operation not permitted
Are you root?  Does sit show up in "lsmod"?
Logged

alt1231

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2010, 08:39:28 PM »

What's ISMOD
I got it connected without entering in terminal .
I just selected Link-Local Only in the Ipv6 methods
this setup alot easier than windows.
How do I check the security for the connection?
Logged

alt1231

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2010, 08:54:07 PM »

it broke dunno what happene di was connected a few minutes and i did a release and renew and it disconnected me
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2734
Re: Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2010, 05:10:32 AM »

I assume you have your tunnel terminated on a router and are using that router to advertise routes to the rest of your computers?
Logged

alt1231

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2010, 12:26:45 PM »

I have the tunnel on the router. but ipv6 dont detect when connected to the router
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2734
Re: Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2010, 12:33:51 PM »

Does the tunnel work from the console of your router?

What are you using to distribute addresses to your hosts behind the router?
Logged

alt1231

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2010, 05:02:08 PM »

I'm not sure what you mean by what i am using.. are you asking which commands?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2734
Re: Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2010, 06:27:47 PM »

Like are you using router advertisement or DHCPv6
Logged

alt1231

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2010, 11:13:34 PM »

Im using DHCP
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2734
Re: Help setting up with Linux with router and Vista
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2010, 12:32:18 PM »

Does the tunnel work from the console of your router?

And you're saying that any client that's connected to your network is not receiving a IPv6 address from your DHCP server?
Logged