Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Error creating a tunnel  (Read 16551 times)

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Error creating a tunnel
« on: October 15, 2010, 05:46:18 AM »

Hi,

I'm trying to create a regular tunnel after inputting my public ipv4 i get

Error: Your IPv4 endpoint is unreachable or unstable. Please make sure ICMP is not blocked. If you are blocking ICMP, please allow 66.220.2.74 through your firewall.

Everything works fine using gogo6 so what could be the problem?
also forwarding port 41 didn't help..
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2671
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2010, 05:47:07 AM »

Well, did you enable ICMP?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1705
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2010, 08:25:38 AM »

1) enable ICMP on your CPE, probably something like "enable wan ping".

2) Protocol 41 is NOT "port 41" as it is a protocol and not a tcp/udp port.
Logged

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2010, 09:18:55 AM »

Where do i enable ICMP give some more details and sorry about protocol 41 being a port.
I didn't find any ICMP in the router only IGMP no protocols either
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2671
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2010, 09:46:26 AM »

Well, we need some more information.

What OS are you using to terminate your tunnel?  What kind of router do you have? Are you behind a NAT?
Logged

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2010, 08:25:23 PM »

Win xp sp3, dlink 2650u, yes i'm using nat.
Anything else?
Logged

allen4names

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2010, 09:36:46 PM »

Have you installed IPv6? I think Windows XP does not have IPv6 installed by default. You may also want to check to see if your firewall is blocking ICMP.

EDIT

Gogo6 was mentioned earlier so I suspect that IPv6 is installed. You should still check your firewall though.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2010, 09:48:26 PM by allen4names »
Logged

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2010, 08:11:58 AM »

Windows firewall is off but the router firewall is on, i don't have control over the router firewall just port triggering etc..
but if something gets blocked how come gogo6 works fine?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1705
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2010, 08:39:51 AM »

Because they use something like a udp tunnel that punches through NAT, with their software based tunnel.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2010, 09:53:40 AM by broquea »
Logged

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2010, 11:11:02 AM »

So what can i do to punch through as well?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2671
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2010, 11:35:59 AM »

no icmp =no HE tunnel
Logged

allen4names

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2010, 01:02:41 PM »

I may have found the information you need. Read page 12 of http://www.enativ.com/download/DSL-2650.pdf.

Good luck
Logged

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2010, 03:05:48 PM »

OK THANKS EVERYONE!
After disabling the router's firewall the tunnel was created successfully, therefore i opened an ipfilter for incoming 66.220.2.74 on ICMP and that did the trick :)

Now how do i use the tunnel i created?
I tried the Example IPv6 Tunnel Configurations by OS it said successful install and i still don't have ipv6 am i missing something?

Also quick question if i use a clean OS install that means no gogo6 what else do i need to setup Ipv6?

« Last Edit: October 16, 2010, 05:49:13 PM by Gorovoro »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2671
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2010, 04:20:41 PM »

on xp you need to install the ipv6 stack and then follow the commands provided by he on the tunnel page.  note that you need to add a public ipv6 address on your local area connection to browse the internet with ipv6
Logged

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Error creating a tunnel
« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2010, 06:09:31 PM »

The installation of the ipv6 stack is covered in the IPv6 Tunnel Configurations by OS, how do i add a public ipv6 address?
do i need to update my ipv4 endpoint every time with?
https://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/ipv4_end.php

I also found
http://www.dezzanet.co.uk/articles/26/2010/05/12/Sharing-an-IPv6-tunnel-from-a-Windows-machine/
followed the instructions everything was ok only in show interface i get
Disconnected  IP6Tunnel
Disconnected  Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

It's a total mess out here hehe so if you don't have time to go in the details at least give me something to google :)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3