Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700  (Read 62657 times)

RunnerFL

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« on: February 24, 2011, 03:50:11 PM »

Now that the Netgear WNDR3700 supports IPv6 natively has anyone been able to get it working with an HE tunnel?

My router is assigning IPv6 IP's to my machines and I can ping IPv6 IP's but when I try going to websites that are IPv6 only I'm not reaching them.

Logged

cconn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2011, 04:57:03 PM »

do you see any support for DHCP-PD?
Logged

RunnerFL

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2011, 06:02:47 PM »

do you see any support for DHCP-PD?

On the router or on the individual machines?

I have "Use DHCP Server" as an option in the IPv6 setup of the router but nothing about "DHCP-PD".
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2724
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2011, 05:37:05 AM »

Let's see a copy of your routing tables and the output of ipconfig/ifconfig from a non-working host
Logged

RunnerFL

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2011, 07:45:21 PM »

Ok, I have it working on Linux now but still not Windows.  Here's the output of ipconfig:

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:43bf:4182:e472:f5d1:c88c:f78e:e95a
   Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:43bf:4182:e472:c503:48ab:17a2:a339
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f5d1:c88c:f78e:e95a%11
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.7
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::226:f2ff:fe94:be25%11
                                       192.168.1.1

Tunnel adapter isatap.{DEB0625E-9ACA-4704-BD73-DA3036DAFDF1}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:46f:3d46:3f57:fef8
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::46f:3d46:3f57:fef8%13
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2724
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2011, 04:59:07 AM »

Are you trying to run an HE tunnel?  If so, you're using the wrong IP address range.  The range you've shown is for 6to4, not 6in4
Logged

RunnerFL

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2011, 08:31:13 AM »

Are you trying to run an HE tunnel?  If so, you're using the wrong IP address range.  The range you've shown is for 6to4, not 6in4

That's why I'm here.  Any suggestions?

There's nowhere in the router to provide an address range.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2724
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2011, 07:27:19 AM »

Is there anywhere on the router that lets you enter IPv6 addresses? If there isn't, I'm afraid there isn't anyway you can host the tunnel on there.

if there are, take a screen shot and post them.
Logged

KelvinTucker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2011, 01:29:30 PM »

Is there anywhere on the router that lets you enter IPv6 addresses? If there isn't, I'm afraid there isn't anyway you can host the tunnel on there.

if there are, take a screen shot and post them.
I'm interested in the answer as well.  So far, the best I've been able to do is to use Netgear's IPv6 Pass Through and setup a Windoze machine to act as the internal router.  This is all based on the excellent guidelines posted in the Windows section of this forum.  With minor changes I was able to get a WHS (Windows Home Server) to act as the main v6 router for my network.  With limited testing, it seems to function just fine though I've not propogated the v6 DNS server addr yet.

The WNDR3700v2 gives me these IPv6 options:
  • Disabled
  • Auto Detect
  • 6to4 Tunnel
  • Pass Through
  • Fixed
  • DHCP
  • PPPoE

If you are really interested, I could post some screen shots.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2724
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2011, 05:43:38 AM »

What does "fixed" give you?
Logged

KelvinTucker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2011, 01:07:56 PM »

Have not figured out how to get a screenshot in yet, but this is what Fixed offers: 
Which is obviously for native IPv6 addressing which my ISP does not support.

WAN Setup

IPv6 Address/Prefix Length
    : : : : : : : /   
Default IPv6 Gateway
    : : : : : : :   
Primary DNS Server
    : : : : : : :   
Secondary DNS Server
    : : : : : : :   
 
LAN Setup

IP Address Assignment

  • Use DHCP Server
  • Auto Config


IPv6 Address/Prefix Length
       : : : : : : : /   
 
IPv6 Filtering  Secured  Open
IPv6 Help

Fixed

The Fixed IPv6 connection is very rarely used. Unless you are certain that
 this is what your service provide asks you to set and your ISP has provided
 you the detailed IPv6 address configurations.

(WAN Setup) IPv6 Address/Prefix Length

This specifies the IPv6 address and prefix length of the router's WAN interface.

Default IPv6 Gateway

This specifies the IPv6 address of the default IPv6 gateway, which is supposed
 to be on the router's WAN interface.

Primary/Secondary DNS Server

These specify the DNS servers that will resolve IPv6 domain name records for you.
 If these fields are not specified, the router will use the DNS server(s) configured
 for the IPv4 Internet connection (on the Basic Settings page).

IP Address Assignment

You can select how you want to assign IPv6 address to the devices on the LAN
 (i.e. your home network). You can use either the "DHCP Server" or "Auto Config"
 to assign IPv6 address. Using DHCP Server may pass more information to LAN
 devices, but some IPv6 systems may not support the DHCv6 client function.
 "Auto Config" is used by default.

(LAN Setup) IPv6 Address/Prefix Length

This specifies the IPv6 address and prefix length of the router's LAN interface.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2724
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2011, 01:15:54 PM »

That doesn't look like it.

Like I said, Google doesn't show any examples of this router being able to host a 6in4 tunnel.
Logged

KelvinTucker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2011, 11:38:03 AM »

We finally have a way for the WNDR3700(v2 in my case) to support a HE tunneled IPv6 configuration, although it is NOT for the faint of heart.  Since the native firmware is of little use, I switched to the OpenWRT community and found that things are progressing very well.  http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/netgear/wndr3700?s[]=wndr3700

By taking it slow, and reading everything 3-4 times I was able to get a setup running.  I have my DNS servers set to Google { 8.8.8.8; 8.8.4.4 } and now score a 9/10 at test-ipv6.com from any PC's in the house.  I assume that by adding the HE IPv6 DNS server into the mix I could jump to 10/10.

For anyone attempting such a move, I have the following advice which might save you some time:

1. Have Telnet working on your PC.  With Win7 I had to go into Control Panel and basically install another Windows feature.
2. Find and download a program called PUTTY, which is essentially a secured Telnet and is required after you set a password since Telnet will stop working.
3.read the instructions on installing the Luci package and do that early so you can use the web interface.





Logged

RunnerFL

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2011, 09:16:13 AM »

Sorry I haven't responded in a while, "life" happened...

Anyways...  I've tried OpenWRT and didn't even get to IPv6 setup because the 5ghz wireless band doesn't work with OpenWRT so that's definitely a no-go for me.  Based on that I didn't even try IPv6 with OpenWRT.

Here's what "Fixed" gives for options:

http://www.webpagescreenshot.info/img/22634-329201161430PM

Note: If I use Auto Detect my tunnel is detected as "6to4".
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2724
Re: IPv6 On Netgear WNDR3700
« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2011, 09:45:13 AM »

What about something like DDWRT or Tomato?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3