Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Correct master setup for use with HE slaves  (Read 4811 times)

dmbaturin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Correct master setup for use with HE slaves
« on: May 24, 2014, 06:01:37 PM »

I've been setting up some zones lately and the transition to slave.dns.he.net confused me, so I spend all the day bugging support about the correct setup (thanks, guys!).
This is a summary:
  • The server that pull zones is slave.dns.he.net now. You need to allow transfer to it.
  • ns1.he.net will no longer be used to pull zones. It can be removed from the ACLs.
  • The server you should send NOTIFY's to is ns1.he.net, not slave.dns.he.net. In BIND it can be achieved with "notify explicit;" in the zone config and "also-notify" statement in "options".
  • ns1.he.net should not be in domain NS's because it's not anycasted.

Hope this saves someome some time.
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 761
Re: Correct master setup for use with HE slaves
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2014, 01:55:05 PM »

Note that when HE sent the message out, ns1 was still pulling zones and could not be removed (if one was expecting updates to propagate).  They should have picked a date that their instructions would be effective.
Logged

porjo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Correct master setup for use with HE slaves
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2014, 03:54:52 PM »

Quote
The server you should send NOTIFY's to is ns1.he.net, not slave.dns.he.net

Thankyou! I've just been scratching my head over why my zones were not updating and this was the reason. Is this documented anywhere on the HE website?
Logged