Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41  (Read 2951 times)

RGK1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41
« on: January 27, 2020, 11:03:13 AM »

Hi there,

I know this is a known topic in other forums but no real solutions have been found, hoewever is there any way to route the tunel on a separate port to 41 to avoid virgin medias suspected slowing of traffic over protocol 41. I'd like to find a solution to this as currently i have 240mbps down and 22mbps up over ipv4 however over the tunnel to the lon2 server (216.66.88.98) i can never exceed 13mbps download. Is there a solution too this that i havent found.
Here is my Traceroute to google through the tunnel, no hops through germany or france - sometime seen:

Tracing route to google.com [2a00:1450:4009:819::200e]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    13 ms    13 ms    21 ms  tunnel568970.tunnel.tserv1.lon2.ipv6.he.net [2001:470:1f1c:4b8::1]
  2    13 ms    26 ms    15 ms  10ge3-20.core1.lon2.he.net [2001:470:0:320::1]
  3    13 ms    15 ms    14 ms  2001:7f8:4::3b41:1
  4    13 ms    14 ms    19 ms  2001:4860:0:135e::1
  5    20 ms    13 ms    22 ms  2001:4860:0:1::2fe5
  6    18 ms    13 ms    13 ms  lhr48s09-in-x0e.1e100.net [2a00:1450:4009:819::200e]

Trace complete.

Here is my traceroute to my tunnel endpoint:

Tracing route to tserv1.lon2.he.net [216.66.88.98]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     2 ms     3 ms     2 ms  router.com [192.168.0.1]
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3    11 ms    11 ms    15 ms  hers-core-2a-xe-003-0.network.virginmedia.net [80.3.32.133]
  4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  5    18 ms    12 ms    11 ms  m686-mp2.cvx1-b.lis.dial.ntli.net [62.254.42.174]
  6    14 ms    13 ms    11 ms  10ge2-4.core1.lon2.he.net [216.66.80.117]
  7    21 ms    13 ms    10 ms  tserv1.lon2.he.net [216.66.88.98]

Trace complete.

Many Thanks in advanced

Ryan
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2737
Re: Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2020, 11:25:02 AM »

I think you answered your own question...you can't route a protocol over a port.  You're trying to turn protocol 41 into protocol 6.

It doesn't work like that.
Logged

RGK1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2020, 03:30:31 PM »

I think you answered your own question...you can't route a protocol over a port.  You're trying to turn protocol 41 into protocol 6.

It doesn't work like that.

Thanks for the reply. Is there anyway to get around this slow down by virgin media. I've tried the Fremont, Frankfurt, Paris and both London servers but can never get above 15mbps. What are my options.

Manos thanks

Ryan
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2737
Re: Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2020, 07:33:34 AM »

Are you able to change ISPs?
Logged

chaz6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2020, 08:19:13 AM »

Have you tried connecting using a different ISP? I woudn't be surprised if the problem is due to congestion on the tunnel server rather than your ISP.
Logged

kriteknetworks

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • aRDy Music
Re: Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2020, 10:08:37 AM »

Given my experience with Comcast throttling my proto 41 traffic on HE tunnel out of Chicago, I wouldn't expect his issue to be related to the tserv.
Logged

RGK1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2020, 02:21:04 PM »

Given my experience with Comcast throttling my proto 41 traffic on HE tunnel out of Chicago, I wouldn't expect his issue to be related to the tserv.

Hey thanks, @kritenetworks

I believe that virgin media and comcast use similar routers made by arius which may be to do with the routing but as your isp decides the route you take, would there be anyway to disguise the use of protocol 41 from the isp/router?

Many Thanks

Ryan

Logged

tjeske

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2020, 07:00:59 AM »

You could create an IPv4 tunnel to somewhere else with a public IPv4, and terminate your HE-tunnel there. Oh, hello MTU problems!
Logged

RGK1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2020, 06:10:33 AM »

You could create an IPv4 tunnel to somewhere else with a public IPv4, and terminate your HE-tunnel there. Oh, hello MTU problems!

Would this be done when configuring the tunnel on Windows? If not how is this done? Also do you have any examples of Servers that can be used for ipv4 tunneling?

Many Thanks

Ryan
Logged

tjeske

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2020, 10:18:59 AM »

Hey Ryan,

it's more a thought experiment and not of any real practical use. Sorry if I'll not elaborate on how to do this as it's a bit completely and of no substantial use. If you're really interested, try to learn the whole concept of tunnels and protocols. If you have specific questions, I'll gladly help you then.
And no, I don't know of any server. Best would probably be your own vserver somewhere. In that case, just use it as VPN endpoint, no need to setup tunnel endpoint there.
Logged

JenkinsNET

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • HE IPv6 Sage Certified
Re: Virgin Media Slowing Protocol 41
« Reply #10 on: June 21, 2020, 02:36:29 AM »

I have been suffering with this problem (very low throughput over my tunnel compared to native IPv4) for *years* and I too am on Virgin Media (currently 350 Mbit service). I can easily saturate my connection using IPv4 but a similar test over the tunnel rarely exceeds 10-20 Mbit/s  :(

Now, my tunnel terminates in my router (Apple AirPort Extreme [802.11ac tower model] with latest firmware) which seems to do a good job... or does it?

As an experiment I connected one of my Macs directly to my cable modem (which runs in modem mode) and created a tunnel in macOS. This gives me a single /128 endpoint on the Mac (the tunnel client address, so no routing occurring on my end). Now I am easily able to saturate my connection over both IPv4 and IPv6!

If this issue was simply due to VM slowing/managing/filtering protocol 41 then I should have seen the same issue for this test, but I don't. It seems to me on the basis of this evidence that the issue is either in the AirPort Extreme (poor tunnel implementation and/or poor IPv6 routing implementation) - possible but seems unlikely it could be *this* bad? Or there is some more subtle issue at work.
Logged